Pick Two – The Engineering Triangle and Shopping Bags

My search for cotton net string shopping bags led me to feel the effect of the Engineering Triangle which is the idea of designing under constraints.

“You are given the options of Fast, Good and Cheap, and told to pick any two. … This triangle reflects the fact that the three properties of a project are interrelated, and it is not possible to optimize all three – one will always suffer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Project_management_triangleaccessed August 14, 2014

My two choices were fast and cheap. That is I wanted the string shopping bag NOW and reasonably priced. Unfortunately the now was a problem if I still wanted to get one cheap. It seems net bags have gone out of fashion here. So I was resorted to my other choices; cheap and good. That meant I had to acquire a new skill set – net making.

So that is where I am right now my first week of net making. After a few bumbling attempts I am on my way to attainment of a net string bag, cheap and good, but not so soon. In addition I have learned something new.

The question is will Norway ever ban plastic shopping bags? Then environmentally friendly alternatives like cotton string bags might become easily available.

Leave a Reply

